USHJA Establishes Prestigious Peter Wetherill Cup

October 28, 2011–The United States Hunter Jumper Association (USHJA) and the USHJA Foundation will honor the life and legacy of equestrian Peter Wetherill through the formation of the Peter Wetherill Cup.

A first-of-its-kind, the esteemed Peter Wetherill Cup will be presented annually to the owner of the World Championship Hunter Rider Program (WCHR) Hunter of the Year, a horse that is currently showing and exemplifies the ideal hunter.

A highly-accomplished horseman, Peter Wetherill is known for his many victories aboard horses such as Junior League, Desert Storm and Hudson. He is also known as an owner of competition horses for many professionals. His horse Cedric, participated in the Olympic Summer Games in Beijing where he won the gold medal with Laura Kraut.

For many, Wetherill, who passed away in February 2010, is also fondly remembered as an exemplary owner and a generous philanthropist. A gift from Wetherill?s Charitable Trust to the USHJA Foundation will assist in providing continued support for the Horseman?s Assistance Fund which benefits horses, individuals and organizations in need of emergency relief as well as the WCHR Program and other initiatives of the USHJA Foundation.

?It is a privilege to create this accolade in honor of Peter Wetherill,? said Geoff Teall, chairman of the WCHR committee. ?Peter was an exceptional rider, owner and person, and his name will live on through this award of distinction.?

Elizabeth Solter, winner of the WCHR Professional Challenge and two time WCHR Professional Finals winner, was fortunate to ride Wetherill?s horse Hudson to the win at the WCHR Palm Beach Hunter Spectacular. Solter remembers Wetherill as a remarkable horseman who always put the animal above everything else. ?Peter was one of the kindest and most generous owners I have worked with,? said Solter. ?His primary concern was always his horses.?

WCHR Hunter Horse of the Year Nomination Process

World Championship Hunter Rider Program members are eligible to submit nominations for the Peter Wetherill Cup beginning November 7, at the conclusion of the Alltech National Horse Show. The deadline for entries is December 1, 2011.

The owner of the winning horse will be presented with the Peter Wetherill Cup on February 18th, 2012 at the WCHR Palm Beach Hunter Spectacular in Wellington, Florida.

Nominations will be collected through an online ballot which will be sent to all WCHR members on November 7th via email. All nominations must be received by 5 pm Eastern Time December 1, 2011. Nominations must include the name of the horse and owner and the horse’s recent accomplishments.

What did you think of this article?

Thank you for your feedback!