Athlete List for Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup™, presented by Edge Brewing Barcelona Revealed

HITS, Inc. is pleased to announce the participating athlete list for the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup.

February 7, 2015–HITS, Inc. is pleased to announce the participating athlete list for the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup, presented by Edge Brewing Barcelona, Friday, February 13 at HITS Post Time Farm in Ocala, Florida. After relocating in 2015, the Ocala event is the only official United States qualifier for the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup™ Final held in Barcelona, Spain later this year.

The HITS Organizing Committee, in conjunction with the USEF, invited select nations to partake in the international show jumping event. Each country is permitted to bring four riders plus one alternate and one Chef d’Équipe or Team Coach.

“The world’s top equestrian athletes will converge in Ocala for the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup™,” said HITS President and CEO Tom Struzzieri. “The field of riders is impressive and the prize purse is remarkable. Knowing the horse sport enthusiasts of Marion County, the crowd will be electric. It’s going to be a historic afternoon of show jumping.”

Canada |Chef d’Équipe Mark Laskin
Tiffany Foster
Eric Lamaze
Ian Millar
Yann Candele
Jonathon Millar

Colombia | Chef d’Équipe Marcel Delestre
Roberto Teran
Daniel Bluman
Juan Pablo Betancourt
Ilan Bluman
Manuel Torres

Ireland | Chef d’Équipe Robert Splaine
Conor Swail
Darragh Kenny
Kevin Babington
Darragh Kerins
Lorcan Gallagher

Mexico | Chef d’Équipe Henri Prudent
Eugenio Garza
Sofia Larrea
Nicolas Pizarro
Luis Alejandro Plascencia
Eduardo Salas

United States of America | Chef d’Équipe Robert Ridland
Beezie Madden
Lauren Hough
Laura Kraut
Georgina Bloomberg
Todd Minikus

Venezuela | Chef d’Équipe Leo Paoli
Pablo Barrios
Emanuel Andrade
Luis Larrazabal
Alejandro Karolyi
Andres Rodriguez

The starting order for the six nations is determined by a draw to take place Tuesday, February 10, following the FEI Jog. On February 12, immediately following the $34,000 Thursday Prix, each Chef d’Équipe will declare the order in which he wants his team members to compete.

In each round of the two round competition, the highest score per team will be dropped and only three scores will count per round for each team. The country finishing with the lowest cumulative two round score will be declared the winner. In the case of a tie, a jump-off against the clock will be held to determine the winner.

What did you think of this article?

Thank you for your feedback!