Goth Wins USEF Equestrian of the Year Title at 2015 Pegasus Awards

January 15, 2016–To close out a year of milestones, Elisabeth Goth (Lebanon, Ky.) was awarded the Robert P. Strub Trophy as the 2015 USEF Equestrian of the Year at the USEF Pegasus Awards Dinner.

Elisabeth Goth | Photo Copyright Howard Schatzberg

Goth enjoyed a standout year in 2015, starting with wins in the Grand Champion Five-Gaited, Champion Five-Gaited Ladies, and Champion Three-Gaited Amateur (15.2 and Over) classes at the Midwest Charity Horse Show in June. In July, she took home the Grand Champion Five-Gaited title at the Blue Ridge Classic Horse Show. At the Kentucky State Fair World’s Championship Horse Show, Goth earned three titles, including World Champion of Champions Five-Gaited Ladies, World Champion Five-Gaited Ladies Gelding, and World Champion Five-Gaited Ladies Mare, as well as Reserve World Grand Champion Five-Gaited. Her most successful outing was the UPHA/American Royal National Championship, where she won all but one of the five classes in which she competed, including the National Grand Champion Five-Gaited Ladies and National Champion Five-Gaited Ladies Mare divisions. In addition to the C.J. “June” Cronan Trophy, Goth won the 2015 Audrey Pugh Gutridge and UPHA Sallie B. Wheeler Distinguished Service Awards.

Nine equestrians were recognized for their competitive achievements in 2015 and honored with the following trophies:

Becky Grand Hart Trophy – Cheryl Van Deusen
Norman K. Dunn Trophy – Martha Rattner
C.J. “June” Cronan Trophy – Elisabeth Goth
Barbara Worth Oakford Trophy – Michael Damianos
Bill Robison Trophy – Misdee Wrigley Miller
Vaughan Smith Trophy – Bill Deeney
William C. Steinkraus Trophy – Laura Graves and McLain Ward
Emerson Burr Trophy – Liza Boyd

Visit to learn more about the 2015 USEF Equestrians of Honor.

Additionally, Helena “Lana” duPont Wright, who was first woman ever to compete on an Olympic Eventing team, was honored for her devotion to equestrian sport as the Lifetime Achievement Award winner with the Jimmy A. Williams Trophy. Visit to see the video honoring Wright at the USEF Pegasus Awards Dinner.

2015 USEF Young Riders Saddle Seat Team member Cameron Kay received the Ruth O’Keefe Meredith Memorial Trophy as 2015 Junior Equestrian of the Year for her honor, courage, dedication, and sportsmanship.

The following equestrians were also honored for their service to the sport with many of the most prestigious awards bestowed annually:

USEF/EQUUS Foundation Humanitarian Award – Anna Ford of New Vocations Racehorse Adoption Program
Walter B. Devereux Sportsmanship Award – Colleen McQuay
The Richard E. McDevitt Award of Merit – W. Gary Baker, Veronica Holt, Lloyd Landkamer, Harry Sebring
Pegasus Medal of Honor – Bill Moroney, Ron Rhodes, Howard Simpson
The Ellen Scripps Davis Memorial Breeders Award – Carl T. Fischer, Jr. and Lorick Stables
The Sallie Busch Wheeler Trophy – Howard Simpson