Lake Erie Wins Intercollegiate Dressage Championship

Host Lake Erie College won the Intercollegiate Dressage Association National Championship on April 24. Mount Holyoke College finished second.

Lake Erie team members (l to r) Cecily Bonadio, Kat Napier, Coach Katrina Merkies, Christine Talbert and Jill Dumont with the Dressage Today Trophy. | Photo by Cami Harkless

May 11, 2005 — Lake Erie College finished with 14 points to win the Intercollegiate Dressage Association (IDA) National Championship and take home the Dressage Today Championship Trophy on April 24 at Lake Erie College in Painesville, Ohio.

Three-time IDA National Champions Mount Holyoke College finished second with 13 points. The University of California Davis placed third with 12, Centenary took fourth with nine points, and Virginia Intermont College was fifth with seven points. Cazenovia College finished sixth.

Individual Champions were: First Level – Sarah Von Brandt of California Polytechnic State
University on Lego with 68.333 percent, Upper Training – Emily Sumner of Cazenovia
College on Pushkin with 73.077 percent, Lower Training – Katie Bucy of Virginia Tech on Spot with 68.846 percent, and Intro – Lexi Chaytor of Elon University on Joker with 69.524 percent.

The winner of the Coach of the Year Award for 2005 was Jackie Dwelle of St. Andrews Presbyterian College, who in addition to a plaque, received an Henri de Rivel Lexus Saddle from JPC Equestrian.

The Team Sportsmanship award was presented to the team from the University of Connecticut, which is organized, funded and coached by students from the university.

“They are always there to help, jumping in when something is needed, without having to be asked, and cheering everyone else on,” said Rebecca Schurink, coach for Mount Holyoke College. The Connecticut team received a trophy and custom saddle pads from in the team colors and bearing the college logo.

In just four years the IDA organization has grown to 36 college teams in the U.S. and Canada and almost 500 individual riders. This year 66 riders from 17 colleges earned enough points in regional competition to earn a slot in the National Championship. For more information on the IDA, visit

What did you think of this article?

Thank you for your feedback!