NRHA Honors New Hall of Fame Members

Five new members were inducted into the National Reining Horse Association Hall of Fame at the 2008 NRHA convention on February 2.

February 6, 2008 — Members of the National Reining Horse Association (NRHA) were treated to a glamorous night at the 2008 NRHA Convention February 2 when the NRHA inducted five new members into its prestigious Hall of Fame and recognized the top riders, owners and horses of 2007.

Incorporated in 1966, the NRHA is the governing body of the sport of reining. The group held its annual convention January 25 to February 2 in Oklahoma City, Okla. The convention was designed to be a “working” event. It started on January 25 with a Judges School. The rest of the week was filled with Executive Board and Board of Directors meetings and committee meetings.

“By creating a working convention this year, we were able to get down to business,” said NRHA Executive Director Dan Wall. “The convention was scheduled earlier in the year to allow many committees to get a jump start on the goals they hope to accomplish in 2008. All in all, I think this year’s convention was a big success.”

As well as honoring the top 20 riders and owners and the top 10 riders and horses in each division on Saturday evening, the NRHA inducted five new members into the Hall of Fame. The 2008 inductees were the American Quarter Horse Association, Dr. Jim Morgan, DVM, Mr Gun Smoke, Taris Little Vintage, and Miss Okie Too. After recognizing all of the NRHA Hall of Fame members in attendance, the NRHA paid a special video tribute to each new inductee.

NRHA President Dr. Kim Sloan also named Reining Horse Sports Foundation (RHSF) Fundraising Chairman Terry Owens as the the NRHA Volunteer of the Year. Owens was chosen for her hours of time dedicated to planning events for and promoting the RHSF.

What did you think of this article?

Thank you for your feedback!