Plumb to Join U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame

Eventer J. Michael Plumb will be the first equestrian inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame. The 2008 induction ceremony will take place June 19.

April 18, 2008 — Eight-time Olympian J. Michael Plumb will become the first equestrian inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame, Presented by Allstate. The induction ceremony will take place June 19 in Chicago. The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2008 is comprised of nine Olympians, one Paralympian, an Olympic Coach, Veteran, Team and Special Contributor.

Plumb, wrestler Bruce Baumgartner, athletics athlete Joan Benoit, figure skater Brian Boitano, boxer Oscar de La Hoya, basketball athlete David Robinson, swimmer Amy Van Dyken, shooter Lones W. Wigger, Jr. and Paralympic swimmer John Morgan will be inducted as individuals. Figure skating coach Carlo Fassi will be inducted in the Coach category along with Olympic figure skating gold medalist Carol Heiss Jenkins in the Veteran category. The members of the 1996 Women’s Gymnastics Team–Amanda Borden, Amy Chow, Dominique Dawes, Shannon Miller, Dominique Moceanu, Jaycie Phelps and Kerri Strug–will also be honored in the Team category, as will legendary Hollywood producer Frank Marshall as the Special Contributor.

Plumb has marched in more Olympic Opening Ceremonies than any other U.S. Olympic athlete, equestrian or otherwise. Plumb’s Olympic career began with the 1960 Olympic Games, and he was named to every Olympic three-day team through 1984. His final appearance was at the Barcelona 1992 Olympic Games. He tallied six Olympic medals, including team gold in 1976 and 1984, team silver in 1964, 1968 and 1972 and an individual silver in 1976. He won his first Olympic medal competing on a horse he had never ridden in competition before –an unprecedented feat. His international career also spanned several World Championships, including team and individual silver medals in 1974, and team bronze in 1978 and 1982.

The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will air in a nationally-televised broadcast this summer. Viewers of the induction ceremony will be treated to a compelling broadcast which will relive the moments that catapulted the Class of 2008 to U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame status. Additionally, viewers will enjoy inspiring stories and insights from the inductees as well as from family, friends and fellow competitors of the honored legends.

With the addition of the Class of 2008, 213 athletes (including seven U.S. teams), coaches, and 13 special contributors to the U.S. Olympic Movement have been enshrined in the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame.

What did you think of this article?

Thank you for your feedback!