Tracy Fenney and MTM Centano Win $50,000 HITS Grand Prix in Ocala

The $50,000 HITS Grand Prix is a qualifier for the AIG $1 Million Grand Prix.

January 21, 2015–Tracy Fenney and MTM Farm’s bay MTM Centano won the $50,000 HITS Grand Prix on the first Sunday of the HITS Ocala Winter Circuit with a clear round in the jump-off and a time of 41.777 to take home $15,000.

Tracy Fenney and MTM Centano win the $50,000 HITS Grand Prix Sunday, January 18, 2015 | Photo Copyright ESI Photography

In second place, after a rail at the first fence in the jump-off, Kris Killam, from Omaha, Nebraska, rode Black Diamond, owned by AEM Enterprises LLC, over the rest of the course carefully to finish with four faults, a time of 45.559, and an $11,000 prize. Charlie Jayne of Wellington, Florida, on his own Handel’s Classic finished with eight faults and a time of 41.998 and took third place and a $6,500 prize, over a course designed by Dough Russell, of Ocala, Florida, at HITS Post Time Farm in Ocala.

“Wins always feel good,” said Fenney, of Flower Mound, Texas, who came in second in Thursday’s HITS Ocala $25,000 SmartPak Grand Prix. “Because you have to prove every week that you can still win, because no one remembers who won last week.” She said of MTM Centano, a 17.1 hands high 15-year-old, “People think he looks slow, but he covers the ground fast because he’s so big. He doesn’t take many strides to get across the ring.”

Only three horses rode clean in the first round, within the time, allowed to make the jump off.

The $50,000 HITS Grand Prix is a qualifier for the AIG $1 Million Grand Prix, presented by MortgageCall in Thermal, California and the Great American $1 Million, in Ocala, Florida. The next HITS Ocala $50,000 Grand Prix takes place Sunday at HITS Post Time Farm.

Place Horse Owner Rider Prize Rd. 1 Faults JO Faults JO Time
1 MTM Centano MTM Farm Tracy Fenney $15,000 0 0 41.777
2 Black Diamond AEM Enterprises, LLC Kris Killam $11,000 0 4 44.559
3 Handel’s Classic Charlie Jayne Charlie Jayne $6,500 0 8 41.998
4 Donar R Redfield Farm Adrienne Iverson $4,000 8 * *
5 Lazaro Jordan Coyne Jordan Coyne $3,000 4 * *
6 Rocky W Kaitlin Campbell Kaitlin Campbell $2,500 4 * *
7 Centurion B Mary Goldman Lisa Goldman $2,000 4 * *
8 Fons Van’t Gey Zever Chuck & Dana Waters Daniel Damen $1,500 4 * *
9 Enzo Cimarron Farm Kelley Robinson $1,500 4 * *
10 Ammeretto Equine Holdings, LLC David Beisel $1,000 8 * *
11 Acolina R Sarah Turner Aaron Vale $1,000 8 * *
12 Quidam’s Good Luck Troy Glaus Aaron Vale $1,000 8 * *

What did you think of this article?

Thank you for your feedback!